Orissa High Court, Cuttack
Home | Feedback | Sitemap | Contact Us |
Naba krushna Choudhury Centre for Development Studies   About Us

About Us



Nabakrushna Choudhury Centre for Development Studies is an inter-disciplinary social science research institute, with three core disciplines, namely Economics, Sociology and Social Anthropology set up by the Government of Odisha in collaboration with the Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR) under the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India. Since its inception, the Centre has been playing a proactive role in promoting multidisciplinary social science research in a relatively less researched state like Odisha and helping the State Government in their plan formulation, designing policy intervention measures, programme evaluations and monitoring.


Besides its Memorandum of Association and Bylaws, which spell out the broad aims and objectives and the mode of governance of the Centre, the Centre has its own Employees Recruitment, Conditions of Service & Retirement Benefit Rules.


The Centre is governed by a Board of Governors, headed by an eminent social scientist nominated as Chairman by the Government of Odisha in consultation with the ICSSR. The Hon’ble Chief Minister of Odisha who was the Chairman of the Centre from 1987 to 1997, is at present the Patron of the Centre. The management of the affairs of the Centre is entrusted to the Board of Governors. The Board of Governors is responsible for providing general policy direction to the Centre. It comprises the Chairman, three ex-officio members from the Government of Odisha namely, Development Commissioner-Cum-Additional Chief Secretary; Commissioner-Cum-Secretary, Department of Higher Education; Principal Secretary, Finance Department; two Vice-Chancellors of Universities in the State of Odisha; two Social Scientists  nominated by the Government of Odisha and the ICSSR; two nominees of the Government of Odisha; two nominees of the Indian Council of Social Science Research; representatives of all levels of faculty of the Centre (not exceeding three) and the Director of the Centre as its Member-Secretary. The Board is constituted by the State Government for a term of three years.

The Director of the Centre is its chief executive and academic officer. He/She is appointed by the Government of Odisha for a period of three years at one spell with the approval of the ICSSR. The Secretary of the Centre remains in charge of office administration and finance and he/she is appointed on rotation basis from among the Readers and Lecturers of the Centre.



Besides the maintenance and development grant the Centre receives from the ICSSR and the Government of Odisha, it has also received one-time endowment grants from different public and private corporate bodies like Mahanadi Coal Fields (MCL), Tata Iron and Steel Company Ltd. (TISCO), National Aluminium Company Ltd. (NALCO), Industrial Development Corporation of Odisha (IDC), Odisha Forest Development Corporation (OFDC), Odisha Mining Corporation (OMC), etc. In addition the Centre has tried to build up its own Corpus Fund through contributions from the State Govt. and othe agencies from time to time as well as from savings from its own revenues.

Untitled Document

@2007 All right Reserved Nabakrushna Choudhury Centre for Development Studies, Bhubaneswar, Odisha-751013
Phone: 0674 - 2301094, 2300471, 2301617; Fax: 0674-2300471; GRAM: NABCENDEVS

Website is Designed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre, Bhubaneswar
| Copyright | Disclaimer | Hyperlink Policy
Free Web Counter